11.1 C
Monday, December 11, 2023

Indian Cricket Heroes: Bollywood Personalities Appear to Commemorate Sport Legends

Yesterday saw the exclusive ‘gold’ carpet event for the inaugural Indian Cricket Heroes at Lord’s Cricket Ground.

In attendance were eminent cricket legends, international TV, film/sports stars and business stalwarts to recognise the best Indian cricket performers from around the world.

Indian Cricket Heroes, an initiative by RP Sanjiv Goenka Group, Cornerstone Founder Bunty Sajdeh and Star Sports, is a recognition platform which aims to elevate the stature of cricket by recognising and rewarding Indian cricketers around the world.

ICH will be held annually in different countries, with the inauguration taking place in London ahead of the 2019 ICC World Cup.

1983 ICC World Cup winning Captain Kapil Dev and Sanjiv Goenka were the co-chairs of the awards jury who attended the event.

They were accompanied by with jury members sports statistician Mohandas Menon, Ex-Indian Women’s Cricket Captain and Commentator Anjum Chopra, Commentator Ayaz Memon, World Class off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif.

The event was hosted by A-List Indian film and music star Farhan Akhtar and renowned television personality Shibani Dhandekar.

Bollywood, Business & Cricket Dignitaries Attended

An array of Bollywood names were also in attendance:

  • Diana Penty who recently attended the Cannes Film Festival for Chopard.
  • Padmaavat actress Aditi Rao Hydari.
  • Indian actor Rajkummar Rao and actress Patralekhaa.
  • Britain’s wealthiest person Gopichand Hinduja, Executive Vice-President Star TV Network Sanjog Gupta and British Member of Parliament Jo Johnson.
  • Hazel Keech, actress and wife of cricketer Yuvraj Singh.

Other famous Cricket and celebrity names included:

  • The entire Indian National team former England cricketer Isa Guha.
  • World-class batsman and man of the tournament at ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Yuvraj Singh.
  • Sports presenters Seema Jaswal and Manish Bhasin.
  • British TV actress Jasmin Walia.
  • Singer and Miss India Scotland Rameet Sandhu.
  • International music producer Naughty Boy.

Indian Cricket Heroes saw the host of VIP guests and sports stars enjoy a ‘gold’ carpet welcome and champagne reception before the awards were announced.

The event was interspersed with a live charity auction where guests were able to bid for money-can’t-buy experiences and iconic gifts for charity.

Indian Cricket Heroes is proudly supported by O’cean Beverages (Beverage partner), Lord’s “Home of Cricket” (Venue Partner), Danubius (Hotel Partner), Sterling Media (Global PR Partner), Hotstar (Digital Partner).

Indian Cricket Heroes will be aired at 1:30 pm and 8:00 pm on the 29th May 2019 just before the commencement of ICC World Cup on Star Sports Network. 

Winners of Indian Cricket Heroes:

Emerging Cricketer of the Year Female – Radha Yadav

Emerging Cricketer of the Year Male – Mayank Agarwal

Bowler of the Year Female – Poonam Yadav

Bowler of the Year Male – Jasprit Bumrah

Batter of the Year Female – Smriti Mandhana

Batter of the Year Male – Rohit Sharma

Best Performance in India’s Premier T20 Tournament 2019 – Andre Russel

Best Performance versus India 2019 – Sam Curran

Cricketer of the Year – Jasprit Bumrah

Heroes Tribute 2019 – Yuvraj Singh

Anuj Radia
Journalist and film enthusiast.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Join Us

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles