15.9 C
Saturday, September 30, 2023

National Film Awards 2022 Winners Announced

India’s 68th National Film Awards are announced on Friday afternoon in New Delhi, with honours for films from the year 2020. The event is organised by the Directorate of Film Festivals, which comes under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

This year, 305 feature films are received as entries in 30 languages and 148 non-feature films in 20 languages from all over the country. Soorarai Pottru (Tamil) wins the best feature film award. The movie’s lead actor Suriya shares the ‘Best Actor’ trophy with Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji.

Actress Aparna Balamurali bags the best actress award for Soorarai Pottru. Director Sachidanandan KR takes home the trophy of ‘Best Direction’ for Malayalam picture AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum. Biju Menon is the ‘Best Supporting Actor’ in the same movie. Ashutosh Gowariker’s Toolsidas Junior wins ‘Best Hindi Film’ in the features segment.

Other notable winners include:

Best Supporting Actress: Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum (Tamil): Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli

Best Children’s Film: Sumi (Marathi); Producer: Harshall Kamat Entertainment; Director: Amol Vasant Gole

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation: Taledanda (Beheading a Life)(Kannada) Producer: Krupanidhi Kreations; Director: Praveen Krupakar

Best Film on Social Issues: Funeral (Marathi); Producer: Before After Entertainment; Director: Vivek Dubey

Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior (Hindi); Producer: Ajay Devgn FFilms. Director: Om Raut

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Mandela (Tamil); Producer: YNOT Studios; Director: Madonne Ashwin

Best Screenplay: Soorarai Pottru (Tamil) Screenplay Writer (original): Shalini Usha Nair & Sudha Kongara. Mandela (Tamil); Dialogue Writer: Madonne Ashwin

Best Cinematography:  Avijatrik (The Wanderlust of Apu) (Bengali); Cameraman: Supratim Bhol.

Best Lyrics: Saina (Hindi) – Manoj Muntashir

Best Music Direction: Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo (Telugu) – Thaman S

Best Choreography: Natyam (Telugu)

For the full list of winners, find out more here.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Join Us

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles